Mass MSA to ST Disk Format Converter

slippyvex

Mass MSA to ST Disk Format Converter

Unread post by slippyvex »

Hi folks,

Just recently I bought myself a MiSTer FPGA and I already love it ... Now, my background is in the Atari ST demoscene back in the 90s and I desperately wanted to ramp up my MiSTer with all my disk collections I collected over time here. I was a bit sad when I figured that the Atari ST emulator does not support MSA files. Unfortunately the majority of my huuuge collection is in that format. I'm a software developer by heart and quickly decided to write myself a tool which would convert all my images to the supported ST format ... which I did ... and it works like a charm.

I wanted to share that with you ... Here's the link to my tool. https://github.com/slippyex/msa-to-st-c ... ree/v1.0.0

Usage is pretty easy. You provide a source directory structure and a target directory (which doesn't need to exist yet). My tool traverses through all sub-directories and as soon as it finds a MSA image, it creates an ST one in the provided target directory, preserving its original directory structures in the target.

Enjoy!

kathleen
Top Contributor

Re: Mass MSA to ST Disk Format Converter

Unread post by kathleen »

Thank you @slippyvex,
I do have also a collection of MSA image disks that I wanted to run on my Mister, but I never did it due to the time it takes to convert them one by one with thé existing tool.
What you did and shared is amazing !
Cannot wait to try it.
Thanks again for your geat work@

かすりん

Syntax Error

Unread post by Syntax Error »

yea a thread , i mean a script for the scripts folder that has a download list of existing converters which allow you to convert files on the mister itself would be great too if someone with enough savvy could handle that

• another one i used so far : viewtopic.php?t=165&start=90 dim288.py , seems to work tho i havent tested it on all sharp .dim (tosec) files around the internet
slippyvex